Skip to content

New Year

September 5, 2013

Dearest Birders,

Though we’re not religious here at Birds and Words, we do like to mark certain holidays and take the time to reflect, eat apples with honey, marvel at where life has taken us this past year, and welcome the new year with excitement.

It’s no secret: I love September. Not only is it my birthday month, but it’s also my favorite season. For some reason, summer agrees with me less and less every year. I call it meteorological incompatibility. And also a manifest lack of birds. But now it’s September and all is right in the world, even though most birds are in fall plumage, which means I can’t identify 99% of what I see, but I’m fairly used to that and it no longer fazes me.

Yesterday morning, I went for a walk in a sweater (!) and happened upon three downy woodpeckers pounding away next to a red-breasted nuthatch and a goldfinch. The fact that I could ID those three birds without even thinking twice made me so happy I ran all the way home, positively bursting at the thought of announcing this riveting news to my husband (to which he smiled and offered me a glass of water; I could barely breathe).

But I’m grateful for this past summer. I’m going to miss the the long days, warm summer evenings, extraordinary farm produce, the colossal peaches which made for the best cobbler I’ve ever tasted (yes, in the absence of pie-making talents, Birds and Words bakes peach cobblers with gusto), the opportunity to reread Proust and teach Swann’s Way to a group of incredibly inquisitive seniors, the day I spent engrossed in Meg Wolitzer’s Interestings from morning till night (until I was done! Would that I could read that book again for the first time!), the tremendous birdiness of Newfoundland, the hours spent learning Czerny studies (oh, we work on self-improvement in all categories, here at Birds and Words) in order to hopefully, one day, take on a Chopin etude, and the many many hours I spent sporting my fabulous (NEW!) Tilley Hat.

Meteorological frustration notwithstanding, this summer was a good one. And there is much to look forward for the new year. Wishing you all a happy, healthy, adventure-filled, sweet new year!

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2013 9:38 pm

    What a lovely post–happy new year to you too!

  2. September 11, 2013 7:59 pm

    Birds and Words you make me smile.

Leave a Reply

