Skip to content

Magical Wood Ducks and Other Miracles

February 2, 2013

Beloved Birders! I think I might be starting to believe in miracles.

Miraculous event #1: I saw my first Wood Duck, which is cause enough for rejoicing. My enthusiasm was just about boundless when I saw this marvel of a duck that looked like it had been painted by a brilliant, meticulous, first rate artisan. I was so impressed that I wrote about the event here and here. (The wood duck also happens to be the state game bird of Mississippi. Clearly, I’m not the only one who’s obsessed.)

Miraculous event #2: The second of the two links, fellow birders, is another blog that I’m thrilled to be a part of. BirdCanada now features contributing writers from all across the country, and I’ll be writing there on the 26th of each month.

Miraculous event #3: As my faithful readers know, I’ve been dying to see Jeffrey Kimball’s BIRDERS since the documentary came out on HBO earlier in July. As Rick Wright suggested, I could have gone to the January meeting of the Linnean Society to watch the film, but finances, better judgment and work commitments intervened. Instead, I called my video store (yes, I still frequent a video store) and asked if they had the film on release day (January 22 — ok, truth be told, I got a bit obsessed with the idea of seeing this movie) and the friendly video-store-owner kindly asked me to describe the movie, which I proceeded to do in a slightly hyper and perhaps overly effusive manner. Five minutes later, the video store owner called me back (!) and announced he had ordered the DVD. Two days later, said video store owner called me yet again to tell me the movie had arrived and he wished me good luck with my birding!

Miraculous event #4: I am about to watch BIRDERS.

Miraculous event #5: Guess who’s going to Hog Island Audubon Bird Camp in September to study fall migration?

And to think… it all started with a wood duck. I’m beginning to think 2013 may well be my Year of the Wood Duck. Stay tuned for more.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2013 12:04 pm

    Ah, Wood Ducks! I can’t imagine NOT being blown away by the beauty of the male. We should be seeing them back here in Ottawa in about a month.

    • February 2, 2013 12:15 pm

      Gillian! I bet you’d love the film BIRDERS! And there are wood ducks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

