Skip to content

Where I’ve Been

December 23, 2012

Beloved Birders! I’ve just returned from a week in paradise:

IMG_1664That’s the beach in Turks and Caicos, where I spent a week watching the ocean, swimming, staring at sunsets, walking along the 20km beach, cooking, eating, and repeating the cycle for seven days. I had grand intentions of reading Bleak House, but ended up opting for Nabokov’s Pnin, which seemed more my pace. Dickens will have to wait until I acquire a greater attention span. I had meant to go on a birding trip, but it seemed that staring at the ocean took up the bulk of my time, and I didn’t quite get around to accomplishing any serious avian feats.

I did, however, see a grandiose Brown Pelican and watched him fly close to the ocean, and then land on a scraggly branch of a tree, no stronger than a small twig. Not only did the pelican land on the twig-like branch with grace and style, but he sat there for at least ten minutes, scratching his breast by opening and closing his giant bill in a scissor-like movement. It was entrancing and I bemoaned the fact that my camera was an hour’s walk away, lying on my towel, next to poor Pnin.

I did manage to take a picture of a congregation of what I think are Semipalmated plovers relaxing on a pier. (Please tell me I managed to identify these birds correctly! If not, please correct me!):

Hopefully I've ID'd these birdies correctly and they're Semipalmated plovers!

Hopefully I’ve ID’d these birdies correctly and they’re Semipalmated plovers! They’re talking politics.

And, I saw this lone mystery bird on the next pier, which I should be able to ID but can’t seem to. Let me know what it is! There he is, staring out into space, pondering the meaning of life. He almost looks like a night heron, but that couldn’t be, could it?

And I am....?

And I am….?

And there were warblers galore, colossal quantities of Common ground doves (Columbina passerina), egret type species, a glorious Osprey, and a majestic Cuban Crow (Corvus nasicus) who made the loudest, strangest door screeching sounds imaginable. There were dozens of other species, but between eating, sleeping, swimming and staring into space, that’s all I managed to accomplish, bird-wise, in paradise.

In other, infinitely more exciting bird news, I started blogging over at Ontario Nature earlier this month. Feel free to read my stories over here.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2012 12:39 pm

    Hi there! I just discovered your blog recently and I’m no expert myself, but my best guess for the unidentified bird on the pier is a Little Blue Heron (non-breeding plumage).

    All the best,

    Marilyn

    • December 28, 2012 4:15 pm

      Thanks so much, Marilyn! You are indeed correct! And thanks for reading my blog!

  2. February 15, 2013 2:15 am

    I would agree, this is a Little Blue Heron (the only other choice that comes close, the Reddish Egret, is a bit “scruffier” and, as the name suggests, is a bit reddish (more accurately, dark chestnut) in front. Great blog, BTW – I look forward to reading your contributions on Bird Canada.

    • February 15, 2013 3:12 pm

      Thanks for reading, Pierre! I’m enjoying getting to know the community on Bird Canada. Thrilled to be there.

Leave a Reply

