Skip to content

New York Envy

July 15, 2012

Informed Birders! It should come as no secret for those of you who know me that I harbor irrational feelings of love and devotion toward New York. All of it. I love the city’s energy, museums, architecture, parks, everything. Imagine my delight when I watched the trailer for this HBO documentary about urban birding called Birders: The Central Park Effect.

The trailer is fabulous, and if you happen to have HBO, you can watch this tomorrow at 9pm Eastern time. And if anybody wants to record it for me, I promise to offer a hearty reward!

Speaking of other NYC wonders, my good friend over at Accordion Diaries (a fabulous blog, whether you have a penchant for accordions or not) pointed my attention to this article. It turns out that if I lived in New York, I could have gone out birding with none other than Jonathan Franzen in Central park in June! Of course, it might have been too much pressure to converse casually with the writer who single-handedly sparked my own own birding obsession, and I probably would have committed countless birding ID faux-pas, such as the time when I mistook a run-or-the-mill Turkey Vulture for an exquisite Golden Eagle. Perhaps best that I couldn’t make this particular outing…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2012 4:00 pm

    I haven’t seen it yet, but the ‘trailer’ convinces me that I need to — it looks like an unusually thoughtful film, and exciting to see so many friends’ faces on the screen. As I understand it, those (like me) who live without television will be able to see it at the January meeting of the Linnaean Society, immediately before my lecture “Hummingbirds of France.” Maybe you’ll come?

    • July 15, 2012 4:05 pm

      Rick! Funny you mention Linnaeus — I just bought his biography (we recently went to Stockholm, and I thought a trip to Sweden couldn’t be complete without a nod to Linnaeus; of course I have yet to read beyond chapter 1, but the illustrations are wonderful!)… I’d love to hear your lecture about Hummingbirds of France! (Nice to meet another person who lives a TV-less life!) hm… perhaps I’ll join the Linnaean Society yet!

Leave a Reply

