Skip to content

Magic, Part 2

May 2, 2012

Strange things happen in the land of Birds and Words. When I read through my user’s guide to my new state-of-the-art Zeiss binoculars, I noticed that they’re supposed to come with a Lens Cleaning Cloth. This extra tidbit really thrilled me because I love receiving little bonus gifts and I searched all over for said cleaning cloth. In fact, I ripped apart the packaging just to make sure it wasn’t lurking somewhere in the recesses of the container. Alas, no cloth.

Now, usually, I’m able to let these things go. But three days later, I was still thinking about the cleaning cloth. I began to imagine what a state-of-the-art lens cleaning cloth to accompany my wondrous binoculars would feel like. The texture would be smooth against my skin, almost tingly, it would likely be a soothing color (perhaps bright red? here at Birds and Words, we find peculiar things soothing), and it would help me identify warblers! Yes, after three days of visualizing this magical cloth, I’d decided that there was a direct correlation between possessing a Zeiss premium lens cleaning cloth and my ability to ID migrating songbirds. I needed the cloth.

So, I took matters into my own hands and called the Zeiss North American Headquarters in Virginia. I explained my plight to an understanding (if slightly baffled) customer service representative who assured me that he would do everything in his powers to send me a Premium lens cleaning cloth as soon as possible and in the event that such a package could not be sent to Canada (?) he would talk to his supervisor and they would resolve the issue. I took the opportunity to tell him that I was a novice birder and that these new binoculars and, by extension, this cleaning cloth were about to catapult me into the ranks of a not-so-novice birder. The fellow on the other end of the phone listened to my delirious ramblings patiently and told me I need not fear and I wouldn’t be disappointed with my new purchase.

And guess what? Today I came home to find a package waiting for me! Carl Zeiss’ optic legacy continues to thrive, even in the customer service department. Here’s what I received in the post (minus the cleaning fluid and the nifty case; all I got was the actual microfiber cloth, but that’s the one, with the logo and everything!):

And for some unfathomable reason the customer service rep included a brand new 2012 Hunting Optics catalog with my cleaning cloth. Who knows… Perhaps, unbeknownst to me, I’ve been aching for a riflescope all these years?

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2012 1:33 am

    It’s a slippery slope. . . from birding to bagging your first moose. They probably figured since they were sending the package to Canada chances were high you were a huntin’ n’ fishin’ kinda lass.

    • May 27, 2012 12:00 pm

      Oh, the photos of hunters in the Zeiss catalogue look so appetizing, I nearly bought some extra optical equipment!!

Leave a Reply

