Skip to content

It happened!

March 13, 2012

Illustrious Birders! You might find this difficult to imagine, but I saw (and correctly identified) a SNOWY OWL at Leslie Spit this weekend and showed it to my husband and I think I was seriously the happiest person in the park (and there were people galore — remember how warm it was on Sunday?). The magnificent bird was displaying its radical neck-moves (270 degree turns) and we stared at the owl for about twenty minutes, and the whole time, I kept saying “oh my goodness! can you believe I found a Snowy? It’s a SNOWY! For real!” The Snowy was standing atop a pile of whitish grey rubble and was virtually camouflaged, but there was a vociferous gang of gulls circling around, which caused me to pay closer attention, and then, suddenly, I caught sight of a rapidly turning owl head and THERE HE WAS!

Thankfully, my husband had already seen “The Big Year” and knew all about Owen Wilson’s quest to find the Snowy, so he could empathize with the magnitude of my excitement!

(photo by Michaela Sagatova)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2012 9:02 am

    Congrats, Julia! I hope the gulls didn’t harrass your Snowy too much. I just watched The Big Year with my sister last week, we loved it (even if none of the actors is remotely believable as a birder, and the competition aspect, however satirized, bothered us!). All the best on your birding adventures in this balmy March.
    Chang

    • March 14, 2012 10:08 am

      Chang! Have you read the book by Mark Obmascik? It’s a lot better than the movie. I kind of loved the movie too, for all its silliness…

  2. March 14, 2012 1:46 pm

    Congratulations, Julia! Can’t wait to see you next week. xo

  3. Diana permalink
    March 22, 2012 10:35 am

    “Radical neck moves” — what a great description. The only time I ever saw a snowy owl was on top of the Physical Plant building at the U of T. Who knows what it was doing there! Steam from a chimney was swirling around, making it look even more mysterious and hallucinatory. And then it did that thing with its neck …

Leave a Reply

