Skip to content

Foggy Birding

August 30, 2011

A terrifically strange, but delightful morning of birding this past Saturday. The day began colossally foggy (as in I couldn’t see past my own car as I drove along the 401), but things cleared as we drove north toward Port Perry, via a hamlet called Brooklin (note the spelling), which I wouldn’t recommend visiting unless you had no other choice, or for some reason found the spelling provocative. Once we hit the vicinity of Port Perry, we went straight to the Waste Management Office to buy a sewage lagoon permit! I should have taken a photo of the place — there were about 50 old toilets lined up next to dozens of microwave ovens and refrigerators waiting to be transported from toilet/microwave/refrigerator purgatory to toilet/microwave/refrigerator paradise. I hope they make it! One of the joys of birding has been getting to know various sewage lagoons in Southern Ontario. Of course, nothing could rival my sewage lagoon permit from Brighton, signed by a man who goes by the name of Tiny but who is anything but tiny himself. Sadly, my Brighton permit is expired, and I think they’ve stopped allowing birders anywhere near their sewage.

Once we got to the Nonquon Sewage lagoon, we saw dozens of Bonaparte’s Gulls, an equally number of rowdy ducks whom I couldn’t identify, and a couple extraordinary Black Terns doing a tern-like dance a few inches above the water. It reminded me for a minute of Iceland, where the Arctic Terns also regaled us with elaborate pas-de-deux, almost fluttering along the water. Iceland aside, the lagoon brought back memories of Columbia, Missouri. I used to live directly on a railway line (the Kansas-Texas line) which was converted into a wonderful biking/walking/birding trail called the Katy Trail. Sadly, my Missouri years date way back to the time before I ever picked up binoculars, to my pre-birding existence. I used to ride my bike 15 miles west of Columbia and end up at a fabulous sewage lagoon. It was enormous, smelled horrible, and I biked around its circumference three or four times, until the mixture of smell and fatigue lulled me into a stupor, such that I no longer remembered that I was living in Missouri.

From Port Perry we traveled south to Ajax and had breakfast at a great diner called Scrambles, where “All of Ajax Meets for Breakfast”. My eggs and bacon were cooked to perfection. Before indulging in high-cholesterol fine-dining, we stopped at a park right by the lake and saw a Cow Bird running around acting like a Robin! Cow birds are parasites and leave their eggs in other nests. This particular one was raised by Robins and the Robins clearly thought the cow bird was one of their very own or at least they accepted the cow bird, even if it did look a little funny to them. Here’s what the Cowbird who thought he was a robin looked like:

Here’s the Robin who must have wondered why her baby didn’t really look like her, but yet accepted the cowbird as one of hers anyhow:

And then, the piece-de-resistance: an enormous Great Blue Heron and a smaller, more elegant Green Heron, and an Great Egret standing around looking puzzled. The Green Heron was busy eating fish, the Great Blue Heron was walking around slowly, methodically, lifting his leg out of the water, pointing his foot out until it was at a right angle and placing it down, quietly, stealthily back into the water. He had a fabulous rhythm going, like he had enrolled in dance class! Oh and there were fall Warblers and a Warbling Vireo and I stared at them long and hard and remembered just how challenging being a somewhat birder actually is. Then again, it’s good to be reminded.

We also had Greater and Lesser Yellowlegs, which I never would have been able to tell apart had they not been standing side by side. You guessed it: the Lesser Yellow legs is slightly smaller than the Greater. I’m certain I’ll confuse them for the rest of my birding career (lest I witness them side by side again), but it’s nice to know they really are different! I think I can finally ID a Caspian tern: bright orange bill, black patch on its head, I think I get this bird. In the end, what began as a dismally foggy, drab, seemingly unpromising day turned out to be most rewarding!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2011 10:53 pm

    Oh I love what a birder you’ve become. You automatically know what a robin is now.

  2. September 8, 2011 3:34 pm

    I think of you every time I see a robin. OBVIOUSLY.

Leave a Reply

