Skip to content

Ode to Summer Vegetables

July 12, 2011
tags:

I think I’m falling in love with summer vegetables. Helplessly. What started out as a crush last summer — the first time I subscribed to an organic foodshare with a Plan B Organics, a fabulous farm near Hamilton — has now turned into desperate love, the kind I shudder to think how I’ll be able to live without once the winter months hit. Last year, I even endured an eternity of spinach (5 weeks worth!) and survived! We had omelets, frittatas, spinach soup, spinach quiche, spinach salad, and my dreams were set against a spinach backdrop.

I’m the kind of person who easily gets into a vegetable rut when left to my own devices. I tend to resort to the same seven foods I’ve always eaten, even though I’m tired of them. Routine and familiarity sadly trump my desire to experiment and my fear of culinary failure.

Subscribing to an organic food share has changed the way I eat, and I love it for that very reason. I look forward to picking up my box of vegetables every Thursday afternoon, mainly because I have no idea what it will contain! It adds a level of spontaneity to my cooking that I never knew I craved! My meals now revolve solely around the veggies in my box. During the summer, I eat only what’s in season. I’ve discovered garlic scapes, kale, swiss chard, white radishes, yellow carrots and beets, freshly picked crispy green beans that taste absolutely nothing like grocery store waxy beans, salad greens of every persuasion, garlic so fragrant it’s almost sweet. It feels like I’m learning a new vegetable language with its own grammar of possibilities.

Where are the birds in all this? Well, I’m sure they enjoy flying over and dropping by for a snack on farms with non-toxic crops. See? It’s a bird-friendly way to farm.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 5:48 pm

    Speaking of spinach, here is my new religion: http://www.healthyandsane.com/2011/03/banana-blueberry-spinach-muffins/

  2. July 20, 2011 12:42 am

    Yes, organic farming is for the birds! I’ve noticed that people who buy organic food tend to do it for their health but people who farm organically tend to do it foremost for the environement, birds included.

Leave a Reply

