Skip to content

Bird News

May 6, 2011
tags: ,

I’ve just come across some fascinating bird-related creative projects that I wanted to share with you. The wonderful writer and bird enthusiast Meera Lee Sethi has an amazing project planned for the summer: she’s going to Sweden to volunteer in an ornithological research center and write a book of essays called The Language of Birds (which I totally can’t wait to read!!). You can check out her fabulous project (and support it!) here.

Through Meera’s project, I discovered a stunning artist, Diana Sudyka, who paints the most exquisite birds, among many other things. Her artwork will be on the cover of Meera’s book, so all the more reason to support the project! Diana also blogs at The Tiny Aviary, which is something I look forward to reading regularly. I’ll leave you with an image of Mr. Snow, which you can purchase on Diana Sudyka’s Etsy site:

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2011 1:20 am

    Wow! What a great post…first of all these two women are just plain awesome…the project so cool and the illustrations make me want to cry. This is my kind of gal! Thanks so much for finding this. I’m totally enthralled.

  2. May 7, 2011 11:51 am

    Oh, you are such a dear. Thank you for posting this, and yes! Diana’s work is tremendous.

    Hugs,
    m

  3. May 21, 2011 4:06 pm

    Wow. Thanks for sharing these! Just spent the last half hour browsing through the links and reading lots of Meera’s stuff. It made me want to skin birds too! I always wanted to be a naturalist when I was a kid. I still have a strange attraction to animal skeletons and small, stuffed creatures in drawers.

Leave a Reply

