Skip to content

More Magic!

April 12, 2011

It’s no secret that here at Birds and Words we love birthdays, mail, and especially packages. Imagine my utter delight when I opened my mailbox and found this gift:

It’s a Hooded Warbler (Wilsonia citrina) and when you press on it, the bird sings its distinctive call! I’ve been listening to it nonstop, trying to memorize the distinct notes and it brings me back to Solfege class, which I had to take before my gr. 10 Royal Conservatory of Music piano exam because my sense of pitch was too awful to tell a minor sixth interval from a perfect fifth. And the more I thought about it, the more they sounded identical to me. I tried to memorize as many mnemonic techniques as I could, and then the day of the exam forgot which ditty corresponded to which musical interval. It was an awful day, and my examiner felt sorry for me, and I nearly failed my ear training section of the exam.

Here I am trying to sing along with my new plush Hooded Warbler, trying to memorize its call, and I have to admit, we both sound astonishingly bad and out of tune with one another, which is probably largely my fault. But opening a package from Providence, RI and seeing a didactic bird toy for ages 3 and up was nothing short of magic in and of itself.

The bird really looks like this:

The resemblance is….. well, it’s not bad for a plush toy, don’t you think?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

