Skip to content

April 8 is Bird Day!

April 8, 2011

Let’s celebrate! I’ve just learned (thanks to Nathalie) that today is Draw A Picture of a Bird Day! It’s a national holiday! In honor of April 8, and in honor of upcoming warbler season, here is a worm eating warbler (Paruline vermivore) by the bird-drawing-master, John Hames Audubon:

April 8 also turned out to be the day I discovered that I’m not as fond of curried chickpeas as much as I once was. Or rather, I like them, but I think they give me heart burn, which is something I once thought only afflicted people of an older generation. But I prefer to remember April 8 as draw a bird day rather than Birds and Words experiences a short and ultimately harmless bout of heartburn.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. richmondtoastmaster permalink
    April 8, 2011 6:30 pm

    I learn so much from you, Julia. Hey, I’m logged in as Richmond Toastmaster instead of Robin, but pretty sure you know who I am. I’m going to draw a picture of a bird in my head. Does that count? I’m a better drawer in my head than on paper.

    • April 8, 2011 7:13 pm

      What did you draw? I too draw better in my head. I also sing better in my head, but that’s a whole other story.

      • richmondtoastmaster permalink
        April 10, 2011 5:40 pm

        A sparrow. Because in my head I’m still realistic about my drawing skills. Hey, me too I sing better in my head! Actually, that’s probably why I sing inside my motorcycle helmet all the time.

  2. April 9, 2011 2:02 pm

    Hi Julia, just checked your most recent entry, the warbler depicted is indeed a Worm-eating Warbler, although you could argue that all warblers eat worms(inch-worms anyway)! It is a Carolinian species that is often hard to come by here in Ontario but not in my native West Virginia! The link for this Audubon plate is at:
    http://www.mcq.org/audubon/catalogue/audubon_034.html

    • April 9, 2011 6:46 pm

      Thanks so much for your comment! I’ll correct my initial assumption that it was a yellow warbler. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. A Two-Pronged Anniversary « Birds and Words

Leave a Reply

