Skip to content

Hello March!

March 6, 2011

Here at Birds and Words, March is bringing nothing but excitement. First, the delightful, life-saving Red Boots (that was, technically, in February, but the pleasure of their company is only growing, as the days pass) and then, an unexpected Birdfully perfect gift:

Friends of ours moved into a new house and the previous owners left them a few items including this absolutely perfect (yet horrendously odd) beaded clip-on bird! I let out a squeal of delight when I saw the avian creature and our super-awesomely-generous friends immediately gave it to me as a gift! I’m not entirely sure how one can pull off wearing such a marvel, but I’ll definitely try. Alternatively, I suppose I could clip the bird onto one of our furnishings, but it doesn’t exactly match our color scheme, you see. So, right now, Ruby (yes, I’ve named her) is resting next to my computer as I type. My work space has just gotten brighter and happier!

By the way, if anybody can ID Ruby the red birdy creature, I promise a hearty reward (in the form of a thank you card which you wouldn’t want to miss!).

And in other delightful March news, I have an creative nonfiction essay about learning and forgetting Latin forthcoming in the Antioch Review! It should be published later this Spring. I’ll keep you posted.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2011 4:44 am

    What a gloriously decadent bird pin! How could anyone resist him? Can’t wait to see a photo of you sporting it!

    Congrats on the publication too…definitely want to read it.

  2. March 7, 2011 8:00 am

    I have a few of these birds in different colors. They are Christmas ornaments and clip onto the tree branches. Although I like your idea of brightening up your computer area:)

    • March 7, 2011 9:12 am

      Thanks for stopping by my blog, Jane! This particular bird has a pretty aggressive clip — I’d be worried it would break the Christmas tree branch!

  3. March 7, 2011 3:30 pm

    Bravo! Is that the piece you read at the Salon? I loved it. Bravo!!

  4. March 7, 2011 8:29 pm

    What an amazing beginning to an otherwise dreary month. So happy to hear about the publication.

Leave a Reply

