Skip to content

A Quiet Month

February 24, 2011

Neglected Birders! Many apologies for my prolonged absence. It was a combination of work, virus, general drab greyness that is otherwise known as February in these parts of the world, and a slight slump in birdful activity. Thanks to those of you who came out to Draft Reading Series a few weeks ago, to hear me read about my affection for birds, words, Jonathan Franzen and Mark Bittman, as well as fabulous readings by the awesome Kerry Clare, Maria Meindl and Diana Kiesners. It was a lovely afternoon.

I’m happy to report that I’ve found a way to counteract February’s dreaded drabness and eternal gray skies. I bought myself a pair of Red Boots! (I was, of course, inspired by Kerry’s perfect geranium colored rain coat when I saw her last.) This is the marvel:

The boot may not look particularly avian at first, but I swear, the color reminded me of cardinals and tanagers and all sorts of Spring magic! Coming home with the boots made me excited excited about birds all over again! Really. The world felt brighter, the sky seemed momentarily alive. What can I say, it had been a while since I treated myself to new shoes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 7:10 am

    I might take up birding just to be able to wear a boot like that. It’s gorgeous.

    • February 25, 2011 10:04 am

      Why thank you! I absolutely *love* the blog you, James & Emily have put together! It’s inspiring!

  2. February 27, 2011 11:35 am

    That is one red boot. I love it. Did you get another to match?

Leave a Reply

