Skip to content

Happy New Year!!

January 4, 2011
tags: ,

Happy New Year to all you fabulous Bird Connoisseurs, Bird Amateurs and everyone else who harbors absolutely no avian interests whatsoever! May this be the birdiest and wordiest (in the best possible sense) year yet.

But first, some essential New Year’s Resolutions. I love making resolutions mainly because it gives me a chance to reflect on the past year and to think about what I’d like to do differently or what I’d like more of. This year, I don’t necessarily want any radical changes. I quite enjoyed 2010. There’s nothing particularly illuminating or radically life-altering in my list of resolutions, but here goes:

  1. Identify more birds. See more birds. Be better about writing down what I see. (in other words, Blog more).
  2. Play more chamber music and finally get past that Mozart Sonata in B flat major for Violin and Piano which we’ll never be able to play like this anyhow. (in other words, practice piano.)
  3. Read more Thomas Mann novels. (in other words, another Caribbean vacation)
  4. Write more. (I don’t think this one needs clarifying)
  5. Swim three times a week. (in other words, I’m going to try to actually make it to the gym rather than think about making it to the gym. No more visualizing swimming. I’ll hope for REAL swimming.)
  6. Try to soak beans overnight instead of buying canned beans. (in other words, this resolution will probably never become a reality.)
  7. Listen to something other than Bach while I’m writing. (in other words, change the CDs in my cd player more often than once/year).
  8. Take more photos. (in other words, bring double A batteries with me when I travel. I always run out and put the camera away.)
  9. Take early morning walk. (in other words, get out of bed a half hour earlier than usual. It’s not that easy, now that I’ve been reunited with my down comforter, which I love almost as much as my actual morning walk.)
  10. Reduce my sodium intake. (in other words, stop eating Salt and Vinegar chips, which will probably be the 2nd most difficult resolution to keep this year. I could easily go without dessert [unless it’s pie, but we’ve already been through that] but it’s really hard to stay away from Miss Vickie’s S&V chips.)

Basically, 2010 was so awesome that I just want more of the very same. Happy New Year!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 7, 2011 12:43 pm

    Ha, we have something in common. I made it through Ko”nigliche Hoheit this fall, but bogged down completely with Lotte in Weimar–I rarely give up on a book, but this one…. Now starting the Joseph 4.

Leave a Reply

