Skip to content

Happy Holidays!

December 24, 2010

I recently returned from a week here:

That would be the beach in Turks and Caicos. I spent a lovely week in the shade reading Magic Mountain, which is perhaps decidedly un-beachlike, but it felt like paradise to me. I felt much like the protagonist, Hans Castrop, who ends up in a tubercular sanatorium (aka: the Resort) and is forced to take rest cures and “live horizontally”. Thankfully, my “resort” wasn’t exactly a sanatorium, and the horizontal living only lasted a week (as opposed to Castrop’s 7 years!).

Alas, there were very few bird sightings, save for a flock of flamingos (I think they were flamingos) that flew over our heads one afternoon. I caught some pink, and so immediately assumed they were flamingos, but then again, it could have been the light, and they could well have been anything. The one thing I’m 100% sure of is that they weren’t Canada Geese, which I’ve finally learned to ID.

However, I did see dozens of iguanas, which I found particularly splendid:

Iguanas master the yogic “cobra” pose much better than I ever could. They seem to be ergonomically designed for Yoga. And their tails even wag in a decidedly meditative I’m-inhabiting-the-present-moment sort of way. (Sadly, my photos of iguana tail fluttering/curling/wagging turned out badly and I’ve decided they’re inappropriate for this blog.) There were more than a couple moments over the course of the week where I wished I could inhabit an iguana’s body.

Wishing you all a fabulously happy and healthy Holiday Season!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2010 3:04 am

    You go to all the most beautiful beaches! Looks wonderful.

    • December 25, 2010 10:09 am

      Yeah, it was pretty heavenly! 20 km long beach! sand was white and fine as flour…. I was a bit sad to leave, actually.

Leave a Reply

