Skip to content

Birds and Fish

November 6, 2010

I think I’m addicted to note cards. I buy them the way some people buy shoes. Well, actually, I buy shoes too, so perhaps that’s not the greatest analogy. But seriously, note cards are pretty high on my list of frivolous purchases that I can’t seem to live without. I recently acquired fabulous bird cards by Jeffrey Fisher. How could you possibly resist this woodpecker? (You’ll be happy to know that I don’t just hoard note cards; I’m also addicted to sending them.)

He also has wrens, owls, cuckoos and rooks in his collection of cards. Various websites call Jeffrey Fisher’s books and paintings “imminently giftable.” Now there’s a nice new word to add to my vocabulary!

Yesterday, just as I had promised myself that I wouldn’t indulge in any more note card sprees until December (one can never have enough note cards during Christmas/Hannukah/New Year’s marathon card writing season), I came upon this pack of irresistible FISH cards at one of my favorite bookstores. I love the bookstore for the books on its remainder shelves/tables. I love that I walk in not really wanting anything in particular, and usually walk out with “exactly what I was looking for” and the day turns into the happiest day of my week, and I ride the subway home utterly content. Yesterday, it turned out I was looking for Nabokov’s Pnin and James Prosek’s FISH cards! I was sold on the cards when I read the back of the box and learned that Prosek is known as the “Audubon of the Fishing World.” How could I possibly resist now?

Here it is in all it’s glory: the Brook Trout. In spite of Prosek’s stellar illustrations, I don’t see myself becoming a fisher-woman any time soon. But the cards really did make my day. As far as I’m concerned, there’s no greater joy than sending (or receiving!) a card. I love the format and the flexibility of the note card — you can make the card be long enough to express something of substance (should that be your goal) by filling the entire card, or, should you only have a couple quick things to say, you can simply write on one half of the card and leave the other blank. Either way, the recipient of your card is pretty much guaranteed to be touched. A small miracle of an invention, the note card.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 8:24 pm

    Hi Julia, a blog after my own heart, birds!. Thanks for visiting mine and please forgive my complete ineptitude for not getting your kind comments until today.
    Those are gorgeous notecards. I’m fascinated how this birding obsession can creep up on someone, my family doesn’t understand my interest all that much either, finding it quaint and a little (lot) nerdy. A few weeks ago out while walking on a trail, I saw bald eagles, ravens, wood ducks, hooded mergansers, stellar jays and a kingfisher. I was rapturous trying to explain how amazing that outing was to everyone and they just smiled politely. Oh well, nice to visit places like this and meet some like minded people:)

  2. November 9, 2010 4:47 pm

    Birdwatching is just a slippery slope towards fishing . . . fishing and birdwatching have a lot in common . . . think about it.

    Those are beautiful illustrations. I love trout.

  3. November 17, 2010 3:55 pm

    Coucou,
    je vais t’envoyer une carte postale dès que possible 🙂 et je voulais te recommander, si tu peux le trouver quelque part, Ceremony of Innocence, un CD-Rom, d’après les livres de Nick Bantock. Toute une histoire en cartes postales “à machines”, pour pouvoir les retourner et les lire, une par une, il faut es “débloquer”, agir avec la souris sur les dessins… C’est merveilleusement bien fait. Bon, ça date de Windows 95/98, il faut un émulateur pour le faire tourner. Mais bon. Si jamais ça te tombe entre les mains je recommande :)))

  4. Jake P permalink
    October 6, 2011 3:13 pm

    Pnin and Prosek? Too cool for words.

Leave a Reply

