Skip to content

Thanksgiving!

October 10, 2010

My family doesn’t exactly get my bird interest. They find it quaint, they like the fact that I wear my Tilley Hat religiously, they’re entertained by the fact that I wake up early on weekends, they like that I like birds with cool hair, that I talk about flirtatious ravens and the hermaphrodite cocatrice, but that’s about it. And yet, every so often, my family surprises me. Yesterday, out of the blue, my 90 year old grandmother gave me the best handmade gift:

It’s a ceramic spoon to put on the stove to rest dirty utensils on while I’m cooking! (Is there a more “scientific” name for such genius kitchen tools?) And she drew a loon on it! I particularly like the baby loon following the adult loon, and the flowers and two-dimensional birdies in the background. She really went all out! Who knew that while she was laughing at me for doing birdy things these past couple of months my granny was working on this awesome work of bird art?! You’ll be happy to know that I’ve photographed the spoon resting on my favorite bedtime reading (and obscuring a slightly less favorite, yet necessary, bedtime tome — an Imperial Russian source book, compiled by Dmytryshyn; yes, I have lectures coming up…):

Way to go Grandma! What a perfect way to usher in Thanksgiving. Happy Canadian Turkey day everyone!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 10:49 pm

    That’s the coolest gift! The more scientific term, I believe, is just “spoon rest.”

  2. October 10, 2010 11:16 pm

    Very, very sweet. Our scientific word for it is spoon rest.

Trackbacks

  1. Algonquin! « Birds and Words

Leave a Reply

