Skip to content

What Goes on Between Ravens

October 7, 2010

As promised, Bird Lovers, here they are: the two Common Ravens (Corvus corax) I encountered at the rest area along the I-70, a few miles east of Green River, Utah, which is also home to one of the stranger fruit festivals I’ve ever heard of, called MELON DAYS, and which I’m very sad to have missed.

Perhaps my camera needs a better zoom lens in order to capture the full effect of what was going on that afternoon between the two Common Ravens, not far from the fabulous melon harvest of Green River. I swear there were intimate words exchanged between the two of them. In any event, it was much more excitement than I was expecting in a rest area on a Monday afternoon in South Eastern Utah. Here’s another photo of one of the ravens:

Here he is, calling out to his beloved, demanding affection in a less than mellifluous way. I hope he got what he was looking for. We watched their back and forth for a good twenty minutes, and I swear there was a little kiss in there somewhere (or perhaps they were just taking bites of a worm and passing it back and forth, who knows what ravens really do in their spare time), but I was too slow to capture it on film. Maybe they were discussing where to send their kids for college or reminiscing about their first date way back when. Anyhow, the whole thing was touching and gave me a whole new perspective on ravens.

By the way, if you ever find yourself anywhere near Grand River, Utah, do buy a melon of one sort or another. The watermelon we ate was the sweetest, most fragrant watermelon I’ve ever tasted in my life! (The only rather curious thing about Grand River was the city’s lack of electricity on the day we drove through. Hundreds of melons of every possible persuasion, but no functional bathrooms or gas stations. In the Wild West, this translates to: wait another 100 miles before you hit a bathroom. Ah well, at least there were melons and ravens.)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2010 9:51 pm

    Very cool. I love ravens and really like some of their more unusual calls. Could do without crows for the most part . . . though I know they have their place cleaning up messes. By the way, how can you tell the difference between a raven and a crow exactly, from sight alone, I mean. I can always tell a raven by the weird and broad repetoire of noises it makes, but to tell them apart from crows by sight I usually just suppose it’s a raven if it’s way larger than a crow should be. There must be a more scientific way . . . I’m generally better at identifying birds by their calls than by what they look like, especially because half the time I seem to be able to hear them but not see them. Someone will say, look, look, up there in the tree behind the two other trees on the branch sticking out beyond that rock . . . and I can never see what their pointing at. I’m not cut out for birdwatching.

Trackbacks

  1. Thanksgiving! « Birds and Words

Leave a Reply

