Skip to content

Birds and Pie

September 24, 2010

Yesterday was the kind of autumn day one lives for. Do you remember how bitterly I had lamented, after nearly single-handedly consuming a delicious pie in Prince Edward County, that I was having a hard time finding equivalent pie-perfection in Toronto? Well, Pickle Me This came to the rescue and baked a fantastic apple pie and invited me over, along with Nathalie, who brought a stunning assortment of cheeses. A decadent afternoon that included pie, cheese, wine and talk of books and writing. What could be better? It’s also amazing to find that there’s actually a community of bloggers! I mean, usually it’s just me, thinking about something birdy, my fabulous readers absorbing my birdy nerddom, my Tilley Hat looking on, somewhat amused, and a gazillion spammers eavesdropping on the whole conversation. But actually meeting the folks who read you is exciting. And, to top off the afternoon, Nathalie wore a T-shirt of birds on wires. (Bird lovers among you, I will admit that my afternoon yesterday was infinitely more wordy than birdy, but that’s ok too, right?)

(Don’t owls have the best expressions? Pensive, yet sly. My second choice for a name, after Blackburnian warbler would be Great Horned Owl [GHW, to make things easier]. What was my mother thinking when she named me Julia??)

Birds and Words will be on hiatus for the next week. We’re taking our binoculars West! Red rocks, desert, and a huge salt lake. I shall return one year older, but such is life. See you soon!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2010 8:53 am

    It’s true, I think, about bloggers. A couple of months ago I barely knew the blogosphere existed, but recently I’ve met a ton of bloggers (online), and each one has been smart, warm, interesting, and open to connecting. I can only imagine what it must be like when three of you are in a room with pie and cheese.

  2. September 24, 2010 9:34 am

    Oh, Harriet has a thing for owls. You could have had such an interesting discussion about them (her side mostly consisting of pointing to the carved wooden owl on top of the bookshelf). And it was a lovely afternoon, wasn’t it? A little bit off the scale nerdwise, but it was wonderful. So glad the pie met with approval. Anytime… Have a wonderful trip, and happy birthday!

  3. September 24, 2010 3:01 pm

    Wonderful to have met you, too. Happy trails and happy birthday!

    • September 24, 2010 3:26 pm

      awesome to meet you too! The cheeses were heavenly (and your son was incredibly sweet)!

Leave a Reply

