Skip to content

Vivaldi’s Goldfinch!

September 22, 2010

It now seems that whenever I get in my car and turn on the radio, I’m exposed to more bird music. This time, thankfully, it had nothing to do with elevator-esque pseudo-classical monstrosities. It turns out that Antonio Vivaldi (yes, Mr. 4 Seasons himself) had a soft spot for the Goldfinch (Spinus tristis)! Incidentally, between you and me, the Goldfinch is one of the 7 birds I can safely, and definitively identify. It’s quite thrilling, really. I also learned a new word in Italian — Il Gardellino, which means, as you may have guessed, Goldfinch. Do have a listen to his Flute Concerto (and the graphics are particularly fetching, if you ask me).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

