Skip to content

Eating, not birding

August 18, 2010

I’ve spent the past few days consuming wild quantities of cheese. We just got back from Prince Edward County and the highlights of my weekend were cheese, cheese, some more amazing cheese and a rhubarb-strawberry pie, which I ate in its entirety because my husband discovered that rhubarb isn’t exactly his cup of tea. It was a delicious, if rather un-birdy, weekend.

For those of you traveling out to The County (as the locals call it), I’d really recommend a stop to Fifth Town Artisan Cheese Co. They make mouth watering goat and sheep cheese blends. We bought four cheeses and I devoured them rather promptly.

My all-time favorite was the Fellowship cheese, which reminds me of a cheese I loved from the French alps called Tome, quite strong, with lots of bite. It probably would have tasted good with wine, but I consumed it with perfect ripe field tomatoes instead (with some coarse salt sprinkled on top). It was the perfect summer lunch.

Next stop was Black River Cheese, which you should definitely check out if cheddar cheese is your thing. Lucky for me, it turned out I like cheddar (3 year aged) quite a bit. A brick of cheddar later, we came home.

We even managed to come home with a pound of coffee brewed in Calgary by Phil and Sebastian. We discovered it at the fabulous  Tall Poppy Cafe in Wellington. I’ll admit, I bought a pound of the coffee because I liked the name. And, it’s shad grown and bird friendly, so why not indulge? We also had some wine, but to be honest, it wasn’t nearly as exciting as the cheese (or coffee).

I’m now determined to find a great pie place in Toronto. There’s got to be someone around this mega-metropolis who can make a great rhubarb-strawberry (ok, I’ll even take rhubarb-raspberry) pie! HELP! I’m going through pie withdrawal. (Yes, I ate it at every single meal until it was gone. Hard work, but totally worth it.)

On the bird front, all I saw were gulls. And more gulls. There may have been some other specimens, but I was too busy consuming pie and cheese to really notice. I guess some weekends are just more about eating than birding.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 10:16 pm

    I don’t know about rhubarb, but Madeleine’s Cherry Pie and Ice Cream is fabulous. 1087 Bathurst, south of Dupont.

  2. August 19, 2010 12:07 am

    Mmmm. . . wish I’d been there to share the pie.

    • August 19, 2010 8:03 am

      We would have had to get 2 in that case. It turns out I’m a total pie hog. I enjoyed having it to myself. 🙂

  3. August 19, 2010 2:12 am

    The only topic as interesting as birds to me is cheese. It’s 8am and I’m already dreaming of my tome de savoie for lunch! It sounds like a heavenly weekend you had there. You’ve heard about the most frequent way for the French to commit suicide? It’s to eat cheese without a glass of wine…so you do have to be careful about enjoying the wine too! No cheddar in France, as I’m sure you know. James is coming to London (he arrives in Europe in just a few days) to begin his Ph.D. program, so maybe he can become my supplier.

  4. August 19, 2010 11:12 am

    Seriously, the best pie in Toronto is made by me. Bar none. My pastry is amazing. So I will have you over for some sometime soon (and Nathalie can come too?)

    • August 19, 2010 9:31 pm

      Awesome! I’m in. I’ll bring cheese from Nancy’s Cheese Shop, and we can have two afters!

      • August 19, 2010 10:52 pm

        YES! we’re on! Most excellent idea! Kerry, can’t wait to taste your pastry of amazingness and Nathalie, I’m sure the cheese will be wondrous! Yay!

  5. Ni Hao broccoli permalink
    August 25, 2010 10:41 am

    My mom makes a great strawberry-rhubarb pie. Perhaps you can persuade her to make you one…

Leave a Reply

