Skip to content

In Good Company

July 31, 2010

It turns out we’re in good company, here at Birds and Words. If I had to reduce my life to three basic things I love, here’s what the list would look like: writing, my morning cup of coffee, being out in nature (and, as is often the case, looking for, but not always seeing, birds). There are all sorts of variables to this Holy Trinity of things I love, of course. There are books, but I’d put them in as a subset of all three categories: I often read before I write, read books with my morning coffee, and, of course, read when I’m out in nature. So really, books are a by-product of my Three Loves. Then there’s music which I listen to as I write (though not always), think about as I drink my coffee (uh….not really) and listen to on the road while I’m driving out into nature.

And….surprise surprise! It turns out that Margaret Atwood loves everything I love!

Check that out! She has recently partnered with Balzac’s Coffee Roasters and bingo! A new coffee blend that gives 1$ of every pound you buy to the Pelee Island Bird Observatory (and 25 cents to the Smithsonian for royalties)! The coffee is coming to Balzac’s in August! Balzac’s is good coffee (and the cafe in the Distillery is also awesome), so I’m sure none of us will be disappointed with the new Atwood Blend.

I knew that Margaret Atwood and her dear hubby Graeme Gibson are great birders and birdophiles (ornithophiles? is that the correct word? if not, it should be.) I even bought Gibson’s Bedside Book of Birds a few years ago, mainly for the fabulous illustrations. It’s a great anthology and a literary tribute to birds, from antiquity to the present. But let me just reiterate that the illustrations are especially stunning. However, what I learned in this Toronto Star article (which I read, incidentally, while sipping my morning coffee) is that while Graeme Gibson is the Chair of the Pelee Island Bird Observatory Board, Margaret Atwood is on its advisory committee. Now that’s what I call bird-commitment!

In any event, tomorrow is August 1st and I know what kind of coffee I’ll be drinking this month! Shade-grown, bird-friendly coffee, brought to you by a true Canadian roasting machine and endorsed by a truly Canadian writer. What could be better? And, most importantly, who knew Margaret Atwood and I had so much in common?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 3:16 pm

    ha ha. I don’t know much about birds, but I did know that. Graeme’s son (also Graeme) used to be a regular at our bar in Toronto. really cool guy; we had coffee with him on Pelee Island. (but we didn’t follow him into the woods.)

    • July 31, 2010 3:56 pm

      You KNEW about the coffee? Wow. You’re really in the know:) Or did you mean you knew about Graeme Jr. and Sr. and their involvement in the Ontario bird scene? Too bad Graeme was there the night I sang karaoke at your bar…or was he? In any event, that was all during my pre-birding days:)

  2. July 31, 2010 4:13 pm

    Yeah. the coffee too. ever since I heard Margaret Atwood speak in Tofino, I’ve only bought shade grown coffee at home. (I still buy Starbucks when I’m out sometimes…I mean come on, I drive a power boat, I’m no saint!) She made a really compelling argument for it, and there are tons of awesome, accessible coffee companies that take the trouble to produce shade grown coffee. Like Kicking Horse…

    • August 1, 2010 5:53 pm

      I love Kicking Horse coffee, and I don’t even like coffee all that much. That’s usually what i drink, the one or two cups a year that i DO drink. After all that I learned about Starbucks when I was down in Guatemala (and visited a lovely coffee growing co-op there, shade-grown etc.) I won’t even consider darkening their door . . . not that that makes any difference to them, given my one or two cups a year . . . but anyway, coffee and birds, a very important issue!

      • August 1, 2010 6:59 pm

        Yes, you can’t do birds without coffee, I’m afraid! (or I can’t, in any event…) I should give Kicking Horse a try…I’m partial to Intelligentsia (no joke, it exists, and I bet I love it for its name) and various other local varieties I’ve dug up. I think I’m going to look into shade-grown stuff more now, I never used to think it mattered…

  3. August 9, 2010 11:34 am

    I love this!! I’m just catching up after holidays, and am thrilled to see that there is a canlit coffee. I’ve linked to it at books on books and on the parenting blog for which I write. (I’d written about a great Ottawa coffee shop.) http://4mothers1blog.wordpress.com/2010/08/06/bridgehead-coffee/

Trackbacks

  1. Bridgehead Coffee « 4 Mothers
  2. Canlit Coffee « Nathalie Foy

Leave a Reply

