Skip to content

I saw a Goldfinch!

June 22, 2010

The start of a fantastic day — I walked out the door and saw this:

It was bright yellow and perfect and I was able to identify it! Woohoo! American Goldfinch (spinus tristis). Being able to identify a goldfinch may not seem like much to all you fabulous bird nerds out there, but I tell you, it felt like a huge milestone for me! Especially because it happened first thing in the morning. Usually when my husband asks me what a bird is (because he now thinks I’m All-Knowing when it comes to birds and this is a myth I certainly don’t want to dispel), I tell him it’s a robin. (I’m right about 60% of the time, I think, but the result is that he now thinks the only birds in town are robins.) Today was the first time I was actually able to name a fabulous looking bird with total certainty! I’ll mark June 22 in my calendar as Bird Naming Milestone Day (BNMD). Let’s celebrate that next year!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Fireweed permalink
    June 22, 2010 12:18 pm

    It’s so beautiful! We don’t get those here, or cardinals either.

  2. June 22, 2010 1:26 pm

    you don’t? wow. I had no idea goldfinches were a Toronto specialty šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

