Skip to content

Green Jay

April 22, 2010

Every year, I buy a calendar on January 2nd. Why the 2nd? Mainly because I don’t want to face the fact that another year’s gone by until I can avoid it no longer, and January 2nd is usually the day the realization hits. (And, calendars are on sale.) For as long as I can remember, I’ve bought art calendars — Paul Klee, Kandinsky, you name it. This year, the only calendars on the sale rack had teddy bears and ultra-smiley babies emerging from cabbages and cute looking animals of every persuasion and just when I thought I’d have to go home empty handed, I saw an Audubon calendar of North American Birds.

Needless to say, I took it as a sign, bought it immediately, hung it on my wall and decided that 2010 would be My Bird Year.

It’s now April, and I’m staring at a fabulous looking Green Jay (cyanocorax yncas, to be precise):

 

Isn’t that the greatest little bird ever? I recently bought a pair of boots that exact shade of green. (Perhaps not a very bird-y thought, but there you have it.) I’ve been daydreaming about this little green jay every day since I first saw it on April 1 and have been imagining that I’d see it at some point during migration season. Actually, I’d never seen a bird that had all my favourite pen colours on it before (yes, I write letters in green and yellow pen).

And then I looked at the handy-dandy Audubon map of North America that shows you exactly where and during which season you could expect to find the bird in question. All I saw was a tiny purple dot in the southern tip of Texas. Alas, no plans to visit Texas just yet. But, good to know that I now have a reason for wanting to see TX.

Has anybody ever seen a Green Jay up close?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 1:53 am

    no. but I like Texas.

  2. Fireweed permalink
    April 23, 2010 11:45 am

    Wow. What a gorgeous bird. Thank god you went for Audobon instead of the babies-emerging-from-cabbages calander – you wouldn’t be dreaming, you’d be having nigthmares.

Leave a Reply

