Skip to content

Hungarian Crows?

March 28, 2010

Unfortunately, when I see birds, I never really know what I’m looking at. I’m not exactly at the stage of being able to identify anything (unless, of course, it happens to be a red winged blackbird — see post below). I was recently in Hungary and saw something strange. It looked and sounded like a crow. The bird was crow-like, to the best of my knowledge (which isn’t much). But it had the strangest coloring — it was half white! Up until that point, I had been positive that crows were entirely black. And there, in the midst of Europe’s only non-Indo-European speaking nation, among the Fino-Ugric speaking peoples in the land of paprika, incredible spas and hot springs, art nouveau masterpieces, I saw a black and white crow.

You’ll be glad to know I left it at that. My first sighting of a Hungarian Crow.

Since returning home, I’ve started wondering. Maybe everything I had taken to be a crow up until that point was actually a raven? Maybe these Hungarian Crows are actually the real thing?

These are the things I wonder about sometimes. After that, I usually eat a piece of chocolate (or two) and get on with my day.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 6:03 am

    I like this. You are my kind of birder. I especially like the chocolate ending.

  2. April 8, 2010 2:45 pm

    Hooded Crows and chocolate go together like–well, Hooded Crows and anything else!

  3. April 9, 2010 3:48 pm

    Thanks for filling me in on the name of those wacky crows:) They sure went well with art nouveau!

Leave a Reply

